Thursday 7/16
We flew into Chicago and arrived in the early afternoon. We checked into the Hyatt hotel right on the loop downtown and were impressed with our room, especially since we got a steal of a deal on Priceline. $65 a night, say what! After a little travel decompression it was time to wounder the city. We walked down to Millennium Park to view the sculptures and the scenery. This is truly an amazing area, they were setting up a concert at the amphitheater and families were sitting on the beautiful lawn enjoying a picnic dinner, wine and all. After seeing "The Bean" and the spitting sculptures we walked over to Grant Park. Unfortunately it started to down pour but I think it was natures way of saying..."You are on vacation, quit walking around, look to your left...see that bar? yeah, that bar! Go sit down and have a beer, take a load off" so that is exactly what we did. By the time the glasses were empty the rain stopped (for a little while).

For Dinner we made our way over to Greek Town and had an amazing meal at Athena's. Pete having grown up near Chicago and his moms side of the family being Greek insured us that this will be some of the best Greek food we've ever had. I'd have to say I agreed. We finished the meal with some baklava and a little ouzo to wash it down.
After dinner we met up with a friend of Kelly's from law school at a bar call Wells on Wells in Old Town across the street from the Second City Theater.
Friday 7/17
We started our day with an amazing breakfast at this little place called "Orange" which came highly recommended from a couple different people. We all enjoyed our meals but we came to the conclusion that Mary had the best breakfast, the Coconut-infused French toast skewered with fresh strawberries and pineapples, topped with honey and served with coconut-mango salad. I will now be one of the people highly recommending this place!

In the afternoon we took a really cool and informative architectural cruise down the river through downtown. The cruise was about an hour and half and supplied us with some amazing views of the city and loads of history for each building. Even though it's touristy I'd recommend this tour. Heck it was Pete's 3rd time on the tour and he enjoys it every time.

After the Cruise we walked down to the Original Gino's Pizzeria for some true Chicago style deep dish. We tried a couple different pies and they were very good. Nothing but loads of cheese, sauce and crust. As usual our eyes were bigger than our stomachs and we waddled our way to the train to head towards to the White Sox game.

It's no secret that I hate the White Sox but I love outdoor baseball. Unfortunately the Cubs were away so you have to take what you can get. I kind of felt like I was cheating. But all in all it was an entertaining game and I was glad to see the ballpark.
Saturday 7/18
Saturday morning was filled with shopping on Michigan Ave and State Street. We went to the State Street Macy's which used to be one of the Marshall Fields I support at work. It was fun to finally see the place after hearing about how large it is.
We met up with Pete and Kelly and took the train to Wrigleyville. I finally got to see Wrigley Field...just look at it in all it's glory...why the hell are there giant sized cut outs of Rascal Flatts blocking the iconic Wrigley Field sign...Damn. We had lunch at the Goose Island Microbrew pub. Lunch was good and the beer was better. I sampled 4 Goose Island brews that I have not tried before. The Indian Pale Ale, Summertime, Nut Brown Ale and Harvest Ale. The winner being the IPA.

Finally we are on our way to Union Park for the main attraction, The 2009 Pitchfork Music Festival!
5:15 - Yeasayer. This is the 2nd time I've seen Yeasayer now and they do not disappoint. I will continue to make it a point to see them whenever they come to town. I can't wait for the new album because I am really digging the new songs they have been playing live.
6:15 - DOOM. Alright, so I was super excited to see DOOM (formerly MF Doom) for the first time. I was very impressed with his set. Hip Hop can be very hit or miss live but DOOM sounded great. To my disappointment I later found out in the Chicago Tribune that DOOM was lip syncing the whole set...damn.
7:25 - Beirut. We found a nice relaxing spot to the side of the stage for Beirut, it was perfect for this set. Beirut's heavy instrumentation was very good live and you'd swear we were watching an outdoor concert in Spain or France. It was a nice hour departure.
8:40 - The National. What an amazing show! The crowd of thousands was captivated. I've never heard so much silence in a crowd that large before during the songs. I found myself wishing I would have seen then in Minneapolis the night before we left for this trip.
After the show we took the train back to Wrigleyville for a night cap. Just after we arrived the Rascal Flatts concert got out. The streets were flooded with drunk girls in cowboy hats and jean skirts and polo'd douche bags. We ended up finding a quite tucked away patio at a bar called "The Dark Horse" which was actually quite nice.
Sunday 7/19
Started with a nice self guided walking tour around the Wicker Park Neighborhood. We saw some cool old houses and did a little window shopping. If we could afford to live in this neighborhood I think we would.

Meanwhile, back at Pitchfork...
2:30 Blitzen Trapper. I'm a fan of their album but I don't know...I started losing interest about halfway through their set. I think a setting like The Turf Club or something similar would be better fitting.
3:20 Pharoahe Monch. Set sounded very good live. Tons of energy and he seemed to really have the crowd going. No lip syncing either like DOOM
4:15 The Thermals. Meh, I'm not mad that I watched them but would have been fine not watching them. It gave me some time to just lay down on the blanket and relax. They did a Nirvana and a Green Day cover...kind of lame.
5:15 The Walkmen. Awesome! Vocals sounded great. I would love to see these guys at a club next time they are in town. Solid set list.
6:15 M83. Now I've heard the these guys are extremely boring to watch live from a couple of my friends. Well I would have to completely disagree. They had tons of energy on the stage and looked surprised at how much people were digging them. I wish I didn't listen to my friends and gone to see them when they were at the Triple Rock this spring.
7:25 Grizzly Bear. The band I was the most excited to see. I was a little worried though since they are so harmony heavy on their albums that it wouldn't sound half as good live. Well from the first song on they sounded amazing. These guys are true musicians. I am counting down the days to their show at First Ave. I felt a little bad for them because The Flaming Lips were setting up on the other stage and they kept shooting off confetti and the crowd kept looking over to that stage taking the attention away from Grizzly Bear.
8:40 The Flaming Lips. Umm, wow. What an experience. The show starts with the band walking our through a giant trippy vagina and then Wayne (singer) walking out onto the crowd in a inflatable ball. Pure entertainment. Confetti everywhere, giant balloons and great videos playing on the screen behind them on stage. I would see these guys every time they come to town from here on out.

Monday 7/20
Fly home...Sad






















